Quality Awards

Font Size:

Frequently Asked Questions

The Quality Awards are an annual celebration of people and projects that improved the quality of care in British Columbia. They were established in 2009 (check out past winners here).

Five Excellence in Quality categories represent the five areas of care as defined by the BC Health Quality Matrix, and four individual categories celebrate inspiring patients, caregivers and health care practitioners. Here’s a full list.

This year we’ve changed the Quality Awards’ nomination process by introducing a phased approach which reduces how much we ask nominators to initially submit:

Phase 1

You can now create a 500-word submission that summarizes the person, team or initiative that you want to nominate. Visit our How to Nominate page to find an easy, step-by-step process and a link to our submission platform. Our judges will then score the submissions.

Phase 2

Nominators whose submissions score high enough will be invited to submit a more detailed nomination in Phase 2. If you have submitted a Quality Awards nomination before, you will recognize this phase’s nomination questions from previous years.

Any project that improved the quality of health care in BC, and any person whose dedication to improvement inspires you! Check out past winners for examples.

Anyone, including those who work in health care, as well as patients, caregivers and family members!

As many as you wish! But each project or person can only be nominated in one category. You’ll have to choose the category that’s the best fit.

Yes, at your discretion. Judges are welcome to select team nominations from these categories if they stand out, though the category is designed for individuals.

Sure! Note that these examples are for the Phase 2 submissions.

For examples of great nominations for our project-based Excellence in Quality award categories, take a look at 2018’s Staying Healthy award winner (now Strengthening Health & Wellness) and 2014’s Living with Illness or Disability award winner.

Want an example of a great nomination for an individual? Here is the nomination for 2018’s Quality Culture Trailblazer award winner.

Want more ideas for making your nomination stand out? Check out our top tips.

A group of leaders in quality and safety, patients and BCPSQC team members.

Winners are awarded a $2,500 sponsorship to help support and disseminate learning from their projects or to support ongoing learning and development.

We’re committed to bringing our community together to celebrate the winners, and how we do that is going to look different in 2021. Subscribe to our newsletter to receive updates as these plans develop.

We’re sorry you didn’t find what you were looking for! Contact us at 604.668.8210 or awards@staging.bcpsqc.ca and we’ll be happy to help.